Multiple people working on Outlook.com thought this was a reasonable design.
After a user deletes an email, then manually goes into the Deleted Items folder, then clicks Delete again, then acknowledges that they wish to Permanently Delete the deleted item:
… the item is still not deleted. You can “Recover deleted items” from your Deleted items folder:
… and voila, they’re all hiding out there:
Further, if you click the Purge button, you’ll find that it doesn’t actually do anything.
The poor user is expected to:
- Be aware of this insane behavior
- Individually check a box next to each unwanted message, then click Purge.
Microsoft’s design is offensively anti-privacy.
PS: This sums it up pretty well.