Multiple people working on Outlook.com thought this was a reasonable design.
After a user deletes an email, then manually goes into the Deleted Items folder, then clicks Delete again, then acknowledges that they wish to Permanently Delete the deleted item:
… the item is still not deleted. You can “Recover deleted items” from your Deleted items folder:
… and voila, they’re all hiding out there:
Further, if you click the Purge button, you’ll find that it doesn’t actually do anything.
The poor user is expected to:
- Be aware of this insane behavior
- Individually check a box next to each unwanted message, then click Purge.
Microsoft’s design is offensively anti-privacy.
PS: This sums it up pretty well.
3 thoughts on “Do Not Lie to Users”
The Microsoft Privacy Center is available here: https://privacy.microsoft.com/en-US/. Just follow the details on in the page and you’ll be able to send your concerns along.
“Sorry, we can’t help with issues with Outlook. Maybe find someone on their support website to talk to?”